Planetensuche / hunting for exoplanets  
   
     
 

    other websites
 
 

new Planetensuche update [2 Oct 2022]


  • the new version 6.18 is now available



  • new Planetensuche update [25th Sept. 2022]


  • the new version 6.17 is now available



  • Homepage updated [1st Sept. 2022]


    Today I updated the link collection on the left side and published new versions of my Exoplanet candidate list and History of exoplanet hunt.


    new Planetensuche update [31st Jul. 2022]


  • the new version 6.16 is now available



  • Server removal complete [27th Jul. 2022]


    The server removal was successfully completed. Both domains now point to the new server.


    Server removal [18th Jul. 2022]


    I was informed by my server hosting provider that my server is outdated and will be shut down at the beginning of October. Until then I have to move everything to a new server. In theory, this shouldn't have any effect. The domain planetensuche.de then points to the new server from a certain point in time. At the moment, however, it is unclear whether the domain marfir.de can also be moved. If not, Planetensuche 6.15 has already been switched to planetensuche.de.
    All users with older Planetensuche versions are requested to update to the latest version as soon as possible.


    new Planetensuche update [17th Jul. 2022]


  • the new version 6.15 is now available



  • new Planetensuche update [23rd Apr. 2022]


  • the new version 6.14 is now available



  • Overview about my planet candidates added [19th Mar. 2022]


    I implemented in a future version of Planetensuche a function that imports all Planet Hunters TESS (PHT) candidates and exports my own candidates as a html site.
    You can find the overview about my candidates here.


    Some statistics about the discovered exoplanet candidates [25th Jan. 2022]


    After publishing my exoplanet candidates, I got the idea to see how many other PHT users have also recognized the transits. Here are the stats from Planet Hunters Analysis Database:
    exoplanet candidate identifiernumber of transitsnumber of usersuser names
    TIC 443616612.01111Prothon,JKD,mase22,HeadAroundU,TaxiCab1729,Fibonacci011235,
    Jose-Adao,spalfrenb,Marfir,csteiner,andreamilosevic
    TIC 27064468.0145 (all 4 transits)mase22,HeadAroundU,planetari7,Vidar87,robertdavies
    TIC 337385330.011 (sector 44)5TaxiCab1729,Vidar87,Carlos.Greene,Adrian97,Marfir
    TIC 91287873.011 (sector 44)13zbish,djsimister,TaxiCab1729,colinjdavis,rdferst,voyager168,mboschmd,
    Vidar87,John_M_Cummins,assodicuori,d_d,Marfir,analogblue
    TIC 59490344.0117TaxiCab1729,colinjdavis,stormforge,Vidar87,rjan,Marfir,sobysquared
    TIC 393546540.0115HeadAroundU,TaxiCab1729,assodicuori,Marfir,BlackHunt

    To my own surprise, I overlooked the transit on day 14.3 at TIC 27064468 and found it later with LATTE. Apparently many other users felt the same way. 10 users discovered the transit on day 3.3, twice as many as on day 14.3.
    This publication also contains a confirmation and explanation for this:
    "This is because the PH volunteers typically identify transit-like events one by one, rather than by exploiting their periodic nature as most automated transit-search algorithms do. They are thus equally likely to find a planet candidate that produces only one transit event in a given light curve as they are to find multiple transit events, as was shown by Schwamb et al. (2012)."

    Unfortunately, I do not know the total number of volunteers who analyzed the light curves for the other planet candidates. The number seems to be variable, according to this publication:
    "Each real light curve (or light-curve segment) is seen by 8 to 15 volunteers and the significance of each transit-like event is evaluated based on all the marked transits (a similar algorithm is described in Schwamb et al. 2012)."

    In my opinion, the single transit (sector 44) around TIC 337385330 was the hardest to spot:



    News from the exoplanet hunt with TESS [24th Jan. 2022]


    In the meantime I have finished searching sectors 44 and 45 on Planet Hunters TESS (PHT) (manually, transit method) and validated my discoveries. PHT is a community of approximately 30,000 dedicated volunteers, led by Nora Eisner, searching for exoplanets. The data for this come from the TESS space telescope (successor to Kepler).
    In this search I was able to find 6 new planet candidates. Also possible protoplanets around the YSO star TIC 6553831. YSO (Young Stellar Object) are very young stars which can have dust disks around them, in which planets will later form. This star shows corresponding changes in its light curve, which are as big as planets.
    However, so far not only exoplanets but also many eclipsing binaries have been identified by the project. In a January publication this year, 6,699 candidate eclipsing binaries are attributed to the project.

    All 6 planet candidates are listed below. In half of these, only 1 single transit could be observed so far, which means that the orbital period can only be estimated very imprecisely (for details see PHT Results and Discussions). Some of these stars are observed again in sector 46, so there is a chance to observe a transit again.
    exoplanet candidate identifierearth radiusorbit in daysspektral type + luminosity classconstellation
    TIC 443616612.0110.5 - 10.73 (0.933 - 0.96 Rjup)755 - 1636K7VLeo
    TIC 27064468.014.95.461F8Leo
    TIC 337385330.011.7415.54K8 ?Gemini
    TIC 91287873.012.826.69K7.5VGemini
    TIC 59490344.013.373 - 223G0Gemini
    TIC 393546540.013.122 - 48G5Sextans

    The possible Jupiter-like planet around TIC 443616612 is particularly interesting because the confirmed planets K2-43 b and c are already known around this star.
    The candidate around TIC 337385330 is also exciting because the planet should have a solid surface and is inside of the Hycean Habitable Zone. The surface temperature is around 403 Kelvin (130 °C). That sounds hostile to life at first, but according to the latest studies, such planets could perhaps still be home to life.
    The last two candidates orbit sun-like stars (our sun = G2V). For comparison, our Mercury has an orbital period of about 88 days and Venus has 225 days.

    All candidates have been recognized by astronomers and have now received a CTOI entry. This means that these stars are prioritized for further observation by TESS. These are not yet confirmed exoplanets. Despite intensive validating, one or the other could later turn out to be a false-positive (false detection).
    I would like to thank the PHT users mase22 and mhuten who diligently supported me in validating my findings. And of course also Nora for the final reviews and that she made this possible with her project in the first place. Great team work!

    The 6 exoplanet candidates from sector 44 and 45 in the star map (screenshot from Planetensuche):



    new Planetensuche update [31st Oct. 2021]


  • the new version 6.13 is now available



  • My contribution on Planet Hunters TESS [30th Oct. 2021]


  • At this week I have started to validate my findings on Planet Hunters TESS project. The results will be tracked here



  • The history of the exoplanet hunt [23rd Oct. 2021]


  • you can find a short history overview on this place



  • new Planetensuche update [16th May 2021]


  • the new version 6.12 is now available



  • How many planets exists in the Milky Way? [8th May 2021]


    In the current Planetensuche version 6.11, the question of how many planets could be in our Milky Way is answered. To do this, I extrapolated the current confirmed exoplanets to the Milky Way. The basic assumptions made are described in the diagram. Interesting is not only the bare (gigantic) number of possible planets, but also how many of them could be Earth-like. With the NASA database from April 2021, 61 million rocky planets, which orbit sun-like stars and within the habitable zone, are forecast! This huge number of potentially habitable planets shows that Earth does not seem to be a lucky one-off. Given millions of worlds with possible (intelligent?) life, utopias like Star Trek or Star Wars seem scientifically possible. Only that we unfortunately still lack the fast drives to be able to get an impression on site (e.g. from Gliese 581 c). For now, we only have the option to analyze the atmospheres of exoplanets from the distance (see e.g. the detection of water vapor around HD 209458 b).

    When it comes to the question of life, moons around gas planets would also be interesting if they are in the habitable zone (e.g. perhaps around gas planet Taphao Thong). The extrapolation also allows to be better estimated the possible values ​​of the variables Fp and Ne of the Drake equation / Green-Bank formula (see also Formulas module - other formulas - Green-Bank formula).

    The diagram is located in the Simulation module in the menu under Statistics - Number of planets in the Milky Way. The forecast adjusts automatically after every exoplanet update (Database module in the menu Database - Online-Exoplanet-Update).




    new Planetensuche update [5th May 2021]


  • the new version 6.11 is now available



  • new Planetensuche update [24th Jan. 2021]


  • the new version 6.10 is now available



  • new Planetensuche update [17th Jan. 2021]


  • the new version 6.09 is now available



  •  
    • • •
    Gerd Gühne
    Kohlweg 10
    04347 Leipzig

Planetensuche / die Jagd nach Exoplaneten  
   
     
 

    andere Webseiten
 
 

Update Kandidaten-Liste [26.11.2022]


Heute ist meine Exoplaneten-Kandidaten-Liste auf 30 angewachsen! Das PHT Projekt hat insgesamt 285 Kandidaten, was etwa 4% der insgesamt über 7000 TESS Kandidaten aus macht. Alle Details zu meinen entdeckten Kandidaten sind hier einsehbar.


neues Planetensuche update [23.10.2022]


  • die neue Version 6.19 ist soeben erschienen



  • neues Planetensuche update [02.10.2022]


  • die neue Version 6.18 ist soeben erschienen



  • neues Planetensuche update [25.09.2022]


  • die neue Version 6.17 ist soeben erschienen



  • Homepage aktualisiert [01.09.2022]


    Heute habe ich die Linksammlung am linken Rand überarbeitet, sowie aktualisierte Versionen meiner Exoplaneten Kandidaten Liste und Geschichte der Exoplaneten Jagd bereit gestellt.


    neues Planetensuche update [31.07.2022]


  • die neue Version 6.16 ist soeben erschienen



  • Server Umzug abgeschlossen [27.07.2022]


    Der Umzug wurde erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Beide Domains verweisen nun auf den neuen Server.


    Server Umzug [18.07.2022]


    Ich wurde von meinem Server-Hosting Anbieter informiert dass mein Server veraltet ist und Anfang Oktober abgeschaltet wird. Bis dahin muss ich alles auf einen neuen Server umziehen. Theoretisch sollte es dadurch keine Auswirkungen geben. Die Domain planetensuche.de zeigt dann ab einem gewissen Zeitpunkt auf den neuen Server. Zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt ist jedoch unklar ob auch die Domain marfir.de mit umgezogen werden kann. Wenn nicht ist für diesen Fall Planetensuche 6.15 bereits auf planetensuche.de umgestellt.
    Alle Benutzer mit älteren Planetensuche Versionen werden gebeten sobald wie möglich auf die neuste Version zu aktualisieren.


    neues Planetensuche update [17.07.2022]


  • die neue Version 6.15 ist soeben erschienen



  • neues Planetensuche update [23.04.2022]


  • die neue Version 6.14 ist soeben erschienen



  • Übersicht über meine Planeten Kandidaten hinzugefügt [19.03.2022]


    In der kommenden Planetensuche Version habe ich eine Funktion implementiert um mir alle Planet Hunters TESS (PHT) Kandidaten zu importieren und meine eigenen Kandidaten davon als html Seite zu exportieren.
    Die Übersicht über meine Kandidaten befindet sich hier.


    Etwas Statistik über die gefundenen Exoplaneten Kandidaten [25.01.2022]


    Nach dem ich über meine Exoplanetenkandidaten berichtet habe, kam mir die Idee nach zu sehen wie viele andere PHT User ebenfalls die Transits erkannt haben. Hier die Statistik von Planet Hunters Analysis Database:
    Bezeichnung PlanetenkandidatAnzahl TransitsAnzahl UserUsernamen
    TIC 443616612.01111Prothon,JKD,mase22,HeadAroundU,TaxiCab1729,Fibonacci011235,
    Jose-Adao,spalfrenb,Marfir,csteiner,andreamilosevic
    TIC 27064468.0145 (alle 4 Transits)mase22,HeadAroundU,planetari7,Vidar87,robertdavies
    TIC 337385330.011 (Sektor 44)5TaxiCab1729,Vidar87,Carlos.Greene,Adrian97,Marfir
    TIC 91287873.011 (Sektor 44)13zbish,djsimister,TaxiCab1729,colinjdavis,rdferst,voyager168,mboschmd,
    Vidar87,John_M_Cummins,assodicuori,d_d,Marfir,analogblue
    TIC 59490344.0117TaxiCab1729,colinjdavis,stormforge,Vidar87,rjan,Marfir,sobysquared
    TIC 393546540.0115HeadAroundU,TaxiCab1729,assodicuori,Marfir,BlackHunt

    Zu meiner eigenen Überraschung habe ich selbst den Transit am Tag 14.3 um TIC 27064468 übersehen und dann erst später mit LATTE gefunden. Offenbar erging es vielen anderen Usern auch so. 10 User haben den Transit am Tag 3.3 entdeckt, also doppelt so viele wie bei Tag 14.3.
    Dafür findet sich in dieser Veröffentlichung auch eine Bestätigung und Erklärung:
    "This is because the PH volunteers typically identify transit-like events one by one, rather than by exploiting their periodic nature as most automated transit-search algorithms do. They are thus equally likely to find a planet candidate that produces only one transit event in a given light curve as they are to find multiple transit events, as was shown by Schwamb et al. (2012)."

    Bei den anderen Planetenkandidaten kenne ich leider nicht die Gesamtanzahl der Freiwilligen, welche die Lichtkurven analysiert haben. Die Anzahl scheint dabei variabel zu sein, laut dieser Veröffentlichung:
    "Each real light curve (or light-curve segment) is seen by 8 to 15 volunteers and the significance of each transit-like event is evaluated based on all the marked transits (a similar algorithm is described in Schwamb et al. 2012)."

    Für mein Gefühl war der eine Transit (Sektor 44) um TIC 337385330 am schwierigsten zu erkennen:



    Neuigkeiten von der Exoplanetensuche mit TESS [24.01.2022]


    Inzwischen habe ich auf Planet Hunters TESS (PHT) die Sektoren 44 und 45 fertig durchsucht (manuell, Transit Methode) und meine Funde validiert. PHT ist eine Gemeinschaft von ca. 30.000 hilfsbereiten Freiwilligen, die unter der Leitung von Nora Eisner nach Exoplaneten suchen. Die Daten dafür stammen vom Weltraumteleskop TESS (Nachfolger von Kepler).
    Bei dieser Suche konnte ich 6 neue Planetenkandidaten finden. Außerdem noch mögliche Protoplaneten um den YSO Stern TIC 6553831. YSO (Young Stellar Object) sind sehr junge Sterne welche Staubscheiben um sich herum aufweisen können, in denen später Planeten entstehen. Der besagte Stern zeigt entsprechende Veränderungen in seiner Lichtkurve, die groß wie Planeten sind.
    Allerdings konnten bisher nicht nur Exoplaneten sondern auch viele Bedeckungsveränderliche Sterne durch das Projekt identifiziert werden. In einer Veröffentlichung vom Januar diesen Jahres werden 6.699 Kandidaten an Bedeckungsveränderlichen Sternen dem Projekt zugeschrieben.

    Im Folgenden sind alle 6 Planetenkandidaten aufgelistet. Bei der Hälfte davon konnte bisher nur 1 einziger Transit beobachtet werden, wodurch sich die Umlaufszeit nur sehr ungenau abschätzen lässt (Details siehe PHT Ergebnisse und Diskussionen). Einige dieser Sterne werden im Sektor 46 erneut beobachtet, so dass die Chance besteht einen erneuten Transit zu beobachten.
    Bezeichnung PlanetenkandidatErdradienUmlaufszeit in TagenSpektraltyp+LeuchtkraftklasseSternbild
    TIC 443616612.0110.5 - 10.73 (0.933 - 0.96 Rjup)755 - 1636K7VLöwe
    TIC 27064468.014.95.461F8Löwe
    TIC 337385330.011.7415.54K8 ?Zwillinge
    TIC 91287873.012.826.69K7.5VZwillinge
    TIC 59490344.013.373 - 223G0Zwillinge
    TIC 393546540.013.122 - 48G5Sextant

    Der mögliche Jupiter-ähnliche Planet um TIC 443616612 ist besonders interessant, da um diesen Stern bereits die bestätigten Planeten K2-43 b und c bekannt sind.
    Spannend wird es auch bei dem Kandidaten um TIC 337385330, weil der Planet eine feste Oberfläche haben müsste und in der Hycean Habitable Zone liegt. Die Oberflächentemperatur liegt bei etwa 403 Kelvin (130 °C). Das klingt erst einmal lebensfeindlich, aber laut neusten Studien könnten solche Planeten vielleicht trotzdem Leben beherbergen.
    Die beiden letzten Kandidaten umkreisen sonnenähnliche Sterne (unsere Sonne = G2V). Zum Vergleich, unser Merkur hat eine Umlaufszeit von etwa 88 Tagen und die Venus 225 Tage.

    Alle Kandidaten wurden von Astronomen anerkannt und haben jetzt einen CTOI Eintrag erhalten. Das bedeutet diese Sterne werden bei der weiteren Observierung durch TESS priorisiert berücksichtigt. Es handelt sich noch nicht um bestätigte Exoplaneten. Trotz intensiver Prüfung könnte sich später immer noch der ein oder andere als false-positive (Falscherkennung) herausstellen.
    Ich bedanke mich dabei besonders bei den PHT Usern mase22 und mhuten die mich fleißig unterstüzt haben meine Funde gegenzuprüfen. Und natürlich auch bei Nora für das Abschlussreview und das Sie dies mit Ihrem Projekt überhaupt erst ermöglicht hat. Tolle Zusammenarbeit!

    Die 6 Planetenkandidaten aus Sektor 44 und 45 in der Sternkarte (Screenshot aus Planetensuche):



    neues Planetensuche update [31.10.2021]


  • die neue Version 6.13 ist soeben erschienen



  • Mein Beitrag zu Planet Hunters TESS [30.10.2021]


  • Diese Woche habe ich begonnen meine Funde auf Planet Hunters TESS zu validieren. Die Ergebnisse sollen hier (nur englisch) dokumentiert werden.



  • Die Geschichte der Jagd nach Exoplaneten [23.10.2021]


  • einen kurzen geschichtlichen Abriss findet man jetzt hier



  • neues Planetensuche update [16.05.2021]


  • die neue Version 6.12 ist soeben erschienen



  • Wie viele Planeten hat die Milchstraße? [08.05.2021]


    In der aktuellen Planetensuche Version 6.11 wird der Frage nach gegangen wie viele Planeten in unserer Milchstraße vorhanden sein könnten. Dafür habe ich die aktuellen bestätigten Exoplaneten auf die Milchstraße extrapoliert. Die getroffenen Grundannahmen sind im Diagramm beschrieben. Interessant dabei ist nicht nur die nackte (gigantische) Anzahl an möglichen Planeten, sondern auch wie viele davon Erd-ähnlich sein könnten. Mit dem NASA Datenbestand vom April 2021 werden 61 Millionen Felsplaneten, welche sonnenähnliche Sterne umkreisen und in der habitablen Zone liegen, prognostiziert! Diese riesige Anzahl an potentiell bewohnbaren Planeten zeigt, dass die Erde kein glücklicher Einzelfall zu sein scheint. Angesichts Millionen von Welten mit möglichem (intelligentem?) Leben scheinen Utopien wie Star Trek oder Star Wars wissenschaftlich möglich zu sein. Nur das uns leider noch die schnellen Antriebe fehlen, um uns vor Ort ein Bild machen zu können (z. B. von Gliese 581 c). Vorerst bleibt uns nur die Möglichkeit aus der Ferne die Atmosphären von Exoplaneten zu untersuchen (siehe z.B. der Nachweis von Wasserdampf um HD 209458 b).

    Wenn es um die Frage nach Leben geht, so wären auch Monde um Gasplaneten interessant, wenn diese in der habitablen Zone liegen (z.B. vielleicht um Gasplanet Taphao Thong). Durch die Extrapolation lassen sich auch die möglichen Werte der Variablen Fp und Ne der Drake-Gleichung/Green-Bank-Formel besser abschätzen (siehe auch Formelsammlung Modul - sonstige Formeln - Green-Bank-Gleichung).

    Das Diagramm befindet sich im Simulationsmodul im Menü unter Statistik - Anzahl Planeten in der Milchstraße. Die Prognose passt sich automatisch nach jedem Exoplaneten Update an (Datenbank-Modul im Menü Datenbank - Online-Exoplaneten-Update).




    neues Planetensuche update [05.05.2021]


  • die neue Version 6.11 ist soeben erschienen



  • neues Planetensuche update [24.01.2021]


  • die neue Version 6.10 ist soeben erschienen



  • neues Planetensuche update [17.01.2021]


  • die neue Version 6.09 ist soeben erschienen



  •  
    • • •
    Gerd Gühne
    Kohlweg 10
    04347 Leipzig